Stay Safe Online

Stay Safe Online

How Can I Make Sure No One Can Track My Internet History?

By Andrew Tennyson

Your Internet browser records various information every time you visit a website. Things like the name of the site, as well as the date and time you visited it, are all kept in your Internet history. This is useful if you want to revisit a website and don’t remember its name, but have an idea about the date and time you last visited it. However, if you are on a shared computer, you may not want others to see what you’re looking at online. If you’re using a popular browser, such as Internet Explorer or Firefox, there are ways to prevent others from viewing your browsing history.

Step 1:
Set your browser to automatically delete your browsing history each time you exit an Internet session. Internet Explorer users can do this by clicking on “Tools,” located at the top of the browser, and then selecting “Internet Options.” Check “Delete browsing history on exit.” Those using Firefox can accomplish this by clicking on “Tools” and then on “Options.” Click on the “Privacy” tab, and then click inside the box labeled “Always clear my private data when I close Firefox.”

Step 2:
Use the private browsing feature on your browser. This prevents any history from being stored on your computer. You won’t have to worry about anyone seeing your temporary Internet files, cookies or history. Both Internet Explorer and Firefox users can access this feature by pressing CTRL+Shift+P. You must do this every time you open up your browser.

Step 3:
Manually clear the browser history. Internet Explorer users can do this by clicking on “Options,” choosing “Clear History” under the “Navigation” tab and then clicking on “OK.” Firefox users can clear their history by clicking on “Tools,” then “Options,” then “Privacy” and finally “Clear Now” under the “Private Data” section. Select “OK” to confirm that you want to clear your history

Read more: https://www.techwalla.com/articles/how-can-i-make-sure-no-one-can-track-my-internet-history

Delete your Google history

Simply deleting your web browsing history does not delete all the information Google possesses relating to your searches and activities. It is also important to delete all activities in Google.

Delete Google browsing history:

  • Go to “Google”
  • Go to “Settings”
  • Click on “search history”
  • “Filter by date”
  • “All time”
  • Select “delete”

Delete your other Google activity: https://myactivity.google.com/myactivity

  • Go to “My Activity”
  • Click on “Delete Activity By”
  • “Delete by date”
  • “All time”
  • Select “delete”

Pause all activity tracking: https://myaccount.google.com/activitycontrols

  • Go to “My Activity”
  • Click on “Activity controls”
  • Pause all web activity

Delete your location:

  • Go to “Google”
  • Go to “Settings”
  • Click on “Location activity controls”
  • Turn off location history

Read more: https://www.wired.co.uk/article/google-history-search-tracking-data-how-to-delete

Office: (213) 389-6755
Fax: (213) 389-5172

After Hours Crisis Hotline: 
(888) 979-3800

COPYRIGHT © 2019 KOREAN AMERICAN FAMILY SERVICES (KFAM). ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.